New Year, New You: Revamping your Home for 2015

The start of a new year unpretentiously demands an overhaul in our daily lives. It’s mostly with thanks to the ritualistic phenomena of setting good-old New Year’s Resolutions, and then smothering our social media channels with the ‘new year, new me’ slogan, but it’s also because of our inability to settle. As women, analyzing and modifying our style, home interior and hairstyle is just all in a day’s work – and quite frankly, I love it.

As with anything, trying to achieve the perfect interior design space is about as reachable as being literally made of money, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t ways to update our homes. Adding new textiles or changing fabrics is a quick way to update your living room or bedroom – choose new cushions and throws or swap your old quilt for a new duvet set. There’s a lot to be said for refreshing your decorations and ornaments too, and a set of fresh saucepans in the kitchen doesn’t go a miss either. If you’re not ready to spend your cash, try removing things from your current space for a budget take on minimalism, or simply move your furniture around.

Here’s what I’ll be adding to my home:

I like to switch up how I store my clothes, and these clothes racks start at an incredible ÂŁ6.50 over at Ikea. They come in a muted colour palette and they’ll fit into almost any bedroom, just add your favourite outfits, bags and hats for a truly Parisian feel.

I won’t add a lot to my living room, but a simple wooden shelf ladder will add a modern twist on simple storage options. A pretty tealight candle holder adds light and personality too.

For the office, I like to keep things clean and minimalist for a no-fuss feel. These retro brass lamps are a chic addition to any work space. If you’re after something different, though, add one of these unique star terrariums from Urban Outfitters – I can’t imagine anybody else would have one!

Lastly, update your garden by planting some fresh flowers, or lining the outside of your home with plant pots and cute decorations, like this super-cute watering can.

Signature

One thought on “New Year, New You: Revamping your Home for 2015

  1. Arielle says:

    I really love your blog, your posts are all so beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Like

Leave a comment