A Little Weekend Makeup Haul | Drugstore Beauty Buys under £10

As I’m off to New York soon, I’ve been particularly frugal with how much I’ve spent on makeup and beauty buys recently. Instead of splurging on a new high-end foundation or treating myself to a glossy new lippie or two, I’ve set the money aside for some serious Sephora shopping. However, as I was browsing in Boots this weekend, I couldn’t help but indulge in a little 3 for 2 spend. Desperately in need of some new makeup brushes (don’t worry, I’ve got a Zoeva collection on the Christmas list already!) and an under-eye concealer, I picked up both and added in a beauty treat too.


A 3 for 2 is a great way to treat yourself without breaking the bank; I always utilize this deal if I can as you’re always saving around £6-10. Luckily, I needed to invest in a concealer and a blush brush anyway, so the lipstick was a freebie for me. I’ve been after a nice new nude for a long time now, so it was fun to be able to choose something a bit different, without thinking about cost.

I needed to buy a new under-eye concealer and opted for the Maybelline Instant Anti-Age Eraser in the shade Light. I’ve been using the Rimmel Match Perfection Illuminating Concealer for a few months and, whilst I really like it, I wanted to try out this Maybelline concealer again. I have actually used it before and I think it’s really good, so I’m excited to start using this. I’m particularly attracted to this product for its nourishing, hydrating ingredients and its unique sponge applicator. At just £7.99, it boasts an affordable price tag for such a mighty product.

I’ve been using Zoeva make-up brushes for around 6 months. I spotted them on Beauty Bay and was instantly struck by their low price point. Prior to this, I’d used Real Techniques brushes for a long time. I’ve been watching Nic and Sam Chapman on their YouTube channel Pixiwoo and I’ve always loved their brushes. Instead of opting for a Zoeva brush this time, I decided to try the Real Techniques Blush Brush for a change, and I’m really glad I did. Super-soft and delicate, this brush is perfect for sweeping powder under the eyes or over your T-Zone and for light bronzing over the cheeks and temples.

Although a new lipstick isn’t exactly a beauty priority, I’ve definitely been lusting after a new nude for a little while now. Whilst I love a glamorous red or deep berry, it’s unusual that you’ll catch me sporting a bold lip unless I’m attending a dressy event. I’m more partial to a your-lips-but-better shade of rose, so this L’Oreal Color Riche Lipstick in Naomi’s Delicate Rose is the perfect shade for me. It’s slightly pinker than my actual lip tone, so it’s a little more prominent. I plan on wearing this to work, to town and out and about – it’s so wearable and forms part of a gorgeous collection by L’Oreal. Massive thumbs up.


In total, these three beauty buys came to around £16, which is pretty good for a luxe lipstick, HD blusher brush and under-eye concealer. Whilst I champion all make-up, and I’m fond of high-end beauty brands like Nars, Mac and Estée Lauder, it’s amazing how much you can get for your money when you buy in drugstores. I’ve tried all three of these products too, and I couldn’t recommend them enough. I’m really surprised by how much I love the lipstick too – it’s a lovely formulation and it’s comfortable to wear – I’ll definitely be purchasing more of the Color Riche Collection Nudes shades.

Have you bought any new make-up recently? If you’ve tried these products, what were your thoughts? Let me know in the comments below!

Signature

One thought on “A Little Weekend Makeup Haul | Drugstore Beauty Buys under £10

Leave a comment